growing mentally
2005-11-07 - 12:28 A.M.

I really should be asleep right now. I need sleeeeepp.

Ya know, it's pretty pathetic when you're so broke that you don't have enough money to run to Wal-Mart & buy a blank notebook to write your thoughts in.

I tried lying down & going to sleep earlier but I mistakenly glanced down under my nightstand before crawling into my bed. Underneath my nightstand is the book that Alison sent me as a Xmas pressie ("Spilling Open: The Art of Becoming Yourself" by Sabrina Ward Harrison - I highly recommend it). I couldn't sleep until I picked it up & read it for a while.

Flipping through that book always makes me want to cry. Some of those pages read like thoughts that constantly fly by in my head. Insecurities about weight & worrying more about love than embracing it. Some of the things in there I feel I've already learned but some of them I read & wonder why I never reached that point before. How does one read something like that & grow from it? How do I change myself to better fit how I want to be? I feel like I'm just stuck, like writer's block in a way, & I don't know how to dig myself out of this hole & continue my growth as an individual.

I sometimes think I was lucky during junior high & all that jazz. I never really questioned who I was or who I wanted to be (not in a big way at least). I was myself. Period. I had already figured out who I was by then. Or maybe I had just never lost myself to begin with.

I think that's what keeps me from knowing where to go from here. Maybe this is why I don't know how to grow as a person. Because I didn't struggle with who I am. There was no remarkable transition to this from something less.. me.

I want to learn how to become more confident with myself. I want to love myself more. What bothers me is that I expect this to be some sudden, overnight thing. I wish it could be.

Truthfully, I've grown a lot over the past year & a half. I attribute most of that to Jim. Jim instilled confidence in me. That confidence carried over to all other aspects of my life. I still don't think he realizes how much he helped me out. He still helps me out. I learn more about myself almost every time we talk.

I want to lock this entry. I don't want anyone else to see that I'm unsatisfied with myself at this point in life. I don't want to appear weak to people. I hate coming across as weak. Vulnerability scares me.

On second thought, I think I'll leave it unlocked. I don't particularly feel like hiding right now.

Reading back over this after typing it up, it doesn't really seem like it's went anywhere. Maybe I'll feel differently about it later..


past - future

navigation

about me
Jess, 21 years old, single, bisexual, honest, unique, Southern, caring, mischievous, kick-ass, friendly, uncoordinated, funny, emotional, beautiful, sexy, trustworthy, searching, open-minded, giving

likes
my friends, dreams, hugs, laughter, children, piercings, music, purple, forensic science, horoscopes, blue eyes, snow, animals, the 80s, Aqua Teen Hunger Force, Van Gogh, the night, movies, candles, big cities, horror movies, Invader Zim, Orbit Spearmint gum, keychains, Happy Bunny, Maddox

dislikes
general ignorance, homophobia, bad spelling/grammar, sneezing, organized religion, yelling, being alone, confrontation, dishonesty, people who try to tell me how to feel, falling for people you're unable to be with, arrogance, pop culture, people who always make things out to be about them, Coca-Cola, Brad Pitt, skinny chicks that are convinced they're fat