ozzfest PWNED
2005-09-02 - 6:45 P.M.

Before I actually start discussing Ozzfest, let me say that I don't even really feel like updating this thing right now. I've felt like shit since last night (for reasons that will remain unspoken & probably hidden away in a private entry before this night's over with). I figure I might as well update anyway though considering that it's been 5 days since the last entry and everything. Plus, Ozzfest was pretty damn kick-ass and deserves some ranting.

So Heather stayed over at my house Tuesday night because it was about 30 minutes quicker to leave from my house as opposed to Berkey's apartment in Hamilton. We ended up not passing out until around midnight or something & then waking up around 4:30-ish. It sucked. A lot. We left around 5:30 and began the long & boring drive to Nashville.

Around 7 AM or so, I realized that I really wanted a milkshake or ice cream or something of the sort. Ice cream. At 7 AM. Yeah, I'm a freak. Anyway, I saw a few billboards advertising a DQ after we got on 65 so I made Heather take an exit near Elkmont (yeah, we don't really know where it is either, guys, & we drove through it), where we drove around for about 10/15 miles and found not even one fast food place. Hell, we didn't even find a McDonald's and every shitty, hole-in-the-wall town has one of those, ya know? After taking yet another exit on down the road in search of a Sonic, McDonald's, or DQ (we found the DQ - they don't open until like 10 AM or something), we eventually just gave up and stopped at a gas station at yet another exit. Don't ask me why we didn't just stop at a gas station much sooner because I honestly have no fucking clue. I'm going to blame lack of sleep.

Anyway, we finally make it to the amphitheatre around 9:30 (it all started at 9 - stupid lateness) after driving past it once with Heather wondering outloud what the hell was going on over there. I love her for her retardedness. Really, I do.

It took fucking forever to get inside the thing & the stupid security lady that patted us down (by us, I mean me because she somehow completely overlooked Heather) made me take off the cap to my bottled water and throw it away. Wtf? Seriously. What's up with that?

I ended up missing Arch Enemy because they played at the ungodly time of 9:25. Ugh. I did get to hear them from outside though while waiting in line & they sounded pretty sweet. I made Heather rush over to the signing booth after we got inside, only to find out that Arch Enemy only autographed shit if you bought their newest CD first. Fuck that shit. I only had enough extra money for one thing so I picked a Shadows Fall tshirt instead. Woot.

I carried a plain tshirt inside with me & ended up getting autographs from The Haunted, In Flames, Soilwork, & Shadows Fall so missing Arch Enemy was definitely not a concern any longer. It was sweet. I also got the Shadows Fall tshirt I purchased autographed because I'm awesomely cool like that. Oh, and look at the best part.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Yup. That's Brian Fair, vocalist of Shadows Fall. Heather took the picture because she's incredibly awesome and loves me immeasurable amounts. And by the way, yes I do realize that my eyes looked kinda closed in that picture but I assure you they're not. I was almost disappointed that I look so horrid in the picture but then I realized that I don't really give a shit because Brian's incredible hotness makes up for the fact that I'm subpar. I briefly considered leaping over the table & raping him then and there.

Do you see how red my forehead is right at my hairline? Yeah, it's a bit worse now. And that's after putting on sunscreen before we left the car. Maybe we should've taken it inside with us. Anyway, I look like I have leprosy again. It's definitely not as bad as when the leprosy acquired at Sounds of the Underground though.

Favourite parts of the whole day = Autographs & a picture from SF; The Haunted; SF's performance; Black Sabbath.

The Haunted were pretty damn kick-ass. I wish UK-type Matt (only like 3 of you will know who I'm talking about & that saddens me) could've been there. He would've had a blast. I think I'm gonna get a picture of my autographed tshirt and send it to him via email. Just so I can brag. Yay.

Shadows Fall's set was the best part of my day, even though stupid people were all up in my way and I couldn't see half the time. I still had great fun singing along & being mesmerized by Brian.

Man, after SF had finished playing, this Starwood Amphitheatre chick came by with this huge stack of tickets & traded our lawn tickets ($39) for reserved seat tickets (like $78 I believe). Yeah. So Heather & I were only about 100 ft from the stage for Mudvayne, Velvet Revolver, and Black Sabbath. It was sweet. Mudvayne were awesome even though I don't really like them that much. Heather enjoyed their set though so that was cool. :)

Also something Heather enjoyed that I didn't think I would = Rob Zombie. I don't really like the guy's music that much (minus a song or 2). I do, however, like White Zombie. Rob ended up having a great stage presence & I definitely enjoyed myself more than I thought I would. And he sang 'More Human Than Human'. Yup. m/ And 'Living Dead Girl', which is really the only song I've heard of his solo stuff that I like. And by like, I mean really, really love.

Least favourite parts of the day = The sun killing me while Heather & I were trying to take a nap on the lawn during some shitty second stage bands; Velvet Revolver, who I still think stuck out like a sore thumb when compared with the other bands on the tour.

The only thing I liked about Velvet Revolver's set was their playing STP's 'Dead and Bloated'. That's such a great song. I sang along a lot. It's a shame they played more of their shitty music instead of the good STP stuff. Or Guns 'N Roses stuff for that matter but I imagine Axl still has his hands on that music. And Axl doesn't share well.

Black Sabbath were fucking badass. They've been on my list of 'bands I wish I could've seen live but was born too late for' for a while now. It's a shame I'll probably never be able to check many more bands off that list (I'm hoping that I can check Pink Floyd off sometime in the near future though). Lots of singing along, lots of being absolutely in awe at the fact that I was seeing the original Black Sabbath, lots of being content and happy. And also, lots of wanting to tear up because of all the rumors that this is the last Ozzfest that Ozzy is going to perform in. Sigh.

I came to the realization while standing in line to get autographs from SF that I'm never more happier than I am at music festivals like that. Music, particularly when live, does something for me that nothing else has ever been able to do.

Anyway, we ended up leaving after the last song & not staying for the encore that was inevitably happening. We actually got out of traffic & on our way around 11 or something. We got to the apartment in Hamilton around 3, went to pick up some Huddle House, ate, & fell asleep around 4/4:30-ish. And were both like 4 hours late for work yesterday. Luckily for us, we called in Wendesday night between sets to let Jeremy know we'd be late. He left at 2 anyway to go pick up a new video game that was being released. I swear I'll kick his ass if he bitches at us for being late. Pfft. We're all a bunch of slackers.

This has to be the longest entry I've ever wrote. Maybe that tells you how much of a kick-ass time I had. I loved it & can't wait to do it again sometime.

The trip to New Orleans for the Voodoo Music Festival on Halloween weekend is more than likely not going to happen. Obviously. It disappoints me in a way because I was really looking forward to seeing NIN, The Flaming Lips, etc. Then I realize how selfish I must seem to be so sad at missing a concert like that when people have died & are dying down there. I'm giving some money sometime within the next few days if I add everything up & think I can afford it. My thoughts are with them all.

Yeah, I'm done now. That is all.


past - future

navigation

about me
Jess, 21 years old, single, bisexual, honest, unique, Southern, caring, mischievous, kick-ass, friendly, uncoordinated, funny, emotional, beautiful, sexy, trustworthy, searching, open-minded, giving

likes
my friends, dreams, hugs, laughter, children, piercings, music, purple, forensic science, horoscopes, blue eyes, snow, animals, the 80s, Aqua Teen Hunger Force, Van Gogh, the night, movies, candles, big cities, horror movies, Invader Zim, Orbit Spearmint gum, keychains, Happy Bunny, Maddox

dislikes
general ignorance, homophobia, bad spelling/grammar, sneezing, organized religion, yelling, being alone, confrontation, dishonesty, people who try to tell me how to feel, falling for people you're unable to be with, arrogance, pop culture, people who always make things out to be about them, Coca-Cola, Brad Pitt, skinny chicks that are convinced they're fat