so i'm diabetic..
2005-03-22 - 6:37 P.M.

Ah, drama. The past two days have been kinda hectic.

First off, I got to work yesterday morning (one of my 9 1/2 hour days..gross) and noticed/remembered that we were having a blood drive. Since I'm one of those people who literally jump with joy at the idea of donating blood, I actually logged out of the phone (screw the idea of actually working) and headed over to give blood.

Well, my blood pressure was 166/103 and my pulse was 106. And no, I haven't taken any drugs (hell, I haven't even taken Tylenol) so I was a bit concerned. I convinced one of the coaches to let me leave (after only working for 3 hours) and go to the doctor.

Sidenote about the visit to the doctor: I hate those stupid scales. Ugh.

My blood pressure was still like 150/100 so that's not cool. Also not cool is the fact that Mum has insulin resistance diabetes and diabetes in general runs throughout my family. Also, also not cool is that high blood pressure is just one of the many symptoms of insulin resistance diabetes that I show. So I ended up going back to the doctor this morning for a two hour glucose test thing. And yeah, I have insulin-resistance diabetes.

I'm supposed to be going back sometime soon just to talk things over with the doctor and find out where to go from here. Yeah. As of right now though, all that I apparently need to do is watch what I eat and stuff. Ta da.

On a more happier note, I went to the local library today (which I only realized today has a really shitty selection of books) and checked out 3 books to keep me entertained. Two are books that 7 year old Jess would've read. Roald Dahl's 'Charlie and the Chocolate Factory' and 'James and the Giant Peach'. Oh yes. The other book is one by Kurt Vonnegut so I guess it all balances out.

Anyway, I'm gonna go lie down and either a) watch The Rocky Horror Picture Show (I don't think I'll ever tire of that movie), or b) read one of the children's books I checked out today. I'm hoping that the next time I visit diaryland, all the little glitches still floating around will be magically back to normal. Blindly searching for links on Alison's website kinda sucks.


past - future

navigation

about me
Jess, 21 years old, single, bisexual, honest, unique, Southern, caring, mischievous, kick-ass, friendly, uncoordinated, funny, emotional, beautiful, sexy, trustworthy, searching, open-minded, giving

likes
my friends, dreams, hugs, laughter, children, piercings, music, purple, forensic science, horoscopes, blue eyes, snow, animals, the 80s, Aqua Teen Hunger Force, Van Gogh, the night, movies, candles, big cities, horror movies, Invader Zim, Orbit Spearmint gum, keychains, Happy Bunny, Maddox

dislikes
general ignorance, homophobia, bad spelling/grammar, sneezing, organized religion, yelling, being alone, confrontation, dishonesty, people who try to tell me how to feel, falling for people you're unable to be with, arrogance, pop culture, people who always make things out to be about them, Coca-Cola, Brad Pitt, skinny chicks that are convinced they're fat