stuck here
2005-02-19 - 12:52 A.M.

So I've been feeling kind of lost lately. And I have some things bothering me in life that I'm really, really trying to get resolved. The problem is that when I try to talk it over with people or I try to change things, I don't accomplish anything. I end up exactly where I started. I apologize in advance if this doesn't make any sense. I'm just super-emotional tonight and kinda teetering on the edge of a bottomless pit.

I got really bored and everything last night so I looked up flight prices at travelocity.com to various places. It'd cost $217 for a round-trip to Houston to see Mark. It'd cost $273 to visit Nicholas in Los Angeles. It'd cost $602 to be with Jim in Alaska. And how much would it cost to visit Lucy in Perth? About $4317. Yeah.

The price to see Mark is actually plausible so I kinda picked that up and ran with it. I even compared that to a Greyhound bus ticket earlier today at work. It'd only cost me $118 for the bus if I bought the ticket a week in advance. Well, after I found that out, I got really excited because I thought I might be seeing this guy that I've known and cared a lot about for over three years.

I text messaged Nicole and asked her if she'd go to Houston with me to meet up with him. I text messaged Mum and asked her if that was cool with her. I even text messaged Nicholas to tell him. He was happy for me, that I was finally going to be hanging out with Mark for a week or so.

I was so happy and excited today. And then I called Mark on the way home a few hours ago. Apparently he would like me to visit but that's just not possible because his mum would never let me stay there. I'd have to get a hotel. And I just can't afford that.

I was so close. I'd even picked out an approximate time as to when I'd like to leave and then come back. And I'm so fucking stupid that I just assume that it'd be cool if I stayed with him and his family.

And now I'm really bummed. I'm bummed because for the past 19 years, I've felt like I was in the wrong place. I've never belonged here. I guess I just thought that I would feel different if I visited him (or anyone else for that matter).

I think I'd be less bummed if he had gotten as excited about it as I did. He didn't even seem disappointed when I said that I couldn't afford that and probably needed to save up for the move anyway.

So I've made a complete 360 since last night. I thought I was finally getting out of this place. I thought I was going to see someone that means as much to me as I mean to them. I thought I would finally belong somewhere. And that maybe I had finally found my home.

Now I'm back to being lost and not having any clue where to turn. I know that I'm going forward but where am I going to? Am I even pointed in the right direction? And although there's an illusion of people making the journey with me, I really just know that I'm alone. Horribly alone.


past - future

navigation

about me
Jess, 21 years old, single, bisexual, honest, unique, Southern, caring, mischievous, kick-ass, friendly, uncoordinated, funny, emotional, beautiful, sexy, trustworthy, searching, open-minded, giving

likes
my friends, dreams, hugs, laughter, children, piercings, music, purple, forensic science, horoscopes, blue eyes, snow, animals, the 80s, Aqua Teen Hunger Force, Van Gogh, the night, movies, candles, big cities, horror movies, Invader Zim, Orbit Spearmint gum, keychains, Happy Bunny, Maddox

dislikes
general ignorance, homophobia, bad spelling/grammar, sneezing, organized religion, yelling, being alone, confrontation, dishonesty, people who try to tell me how to feel, falling for people you're unable to be with, arrogance, pop culture, people who always make things out to be about them, Coca-Cola, Brad Pitt, skinny chicks that are convinced they're fat