peace corps
2004-12-30 - 1:43 P.M.

I don't really feel like updating that much today. The fact that the death toll in Asia has risen above 117,000 makes me feel physically ill. However, I said that I would update with details about my trip. And also, everyone should go here and donate money to help out. I'll definitely be donating some moola & really, everyone else wants to be like me, right? So donate! I really sorta wish I was over there instead. I never feel like I'm helping out if I just give some money, ya know? I'd rather actually be there. Sigh.

I just told Nicholas about how I'd like to be over there and he suggested joining the Peace Corps. I've actually entertained that idea for some time now. I've just never really checked it out or pursued it or anything. I'm checking out their website right now and I think that might be what I want to do. I think I'm going to wait until I finish up college at UNA though. The whole application process takes about nine months to a year anyway.

As for my trip to Gatlinburg & Pigeon Forge, it was pretty cool. We stopped near Sweetwater on the way up there and toured a cave and underground lake. Yeah, that cave kicked my ass. Screw dieting. I just need to stop eating all together. I'm way too fat.

Anyway, afterwards, we went to the Knoxville Zoo. Most of the animals were inside but we still got to see the zebras, lions, tigers, penguins (Yay!), chimps, gorillas, cheetahs, snow leopards, elephants, and giraffes. Yeah, I think that's all. I got pictures of the zebras and penguins, courtesy of the new camera phone, but didn't have a good chance to take pictures of the rest.

Then we drove the rest of the way to Pigeon Forge, checked into a hotel, and went shopping for a while -- nothing really interesting at all. On Monday, we played mini-golf, shopped more, and drove over to Gatlinburg to check out the Christmas lights over there and ride the skylifts. I ended up declining the opportunity to ride them though. It was like 20 degrees and both Dad & I decided to just find a warm store to hang out in until Mum & Joseph were finished with the skylifts. We also toured a little museum with cars from different movies. I saw the mustang from Gone in Sixty Seconds, the motorcycle from Terminator, one of the mini coopers from The Italian Job, the Trans Am from Smokey & the Bandit, the car from Back to the Future, the Batmobile, and Herby the love bug. I actually saw more but those were the only ones I really cared to see. And I got pictures of all of 'em except for the Batmobile because the lighting in there was horrible. I'll upload them as soon as I can.

Tuesday was filled with a trip to Cades Cove, where we saw 107 deer, and then more mini-golf. Yes, I am the mini-golf queen. Bow to me. And on the way home, we stopped in Sevierville to eat & tour the "Muscle Car Museum". Yeah, it was awesome. I got pics of an '82 Corvette, '72 Corvette, '79 Trans Am, '69 Camaro, '96 Viper, and a '70 Challenger. I'll post those pictures soon as well.

Overall, the trip would probably sound boring to other people but I had fun and it was a nice getaway from life. I wish we could've stayed longer. Ya know, even if Dad does get on my nerves a lot.

I guess the trip will be enough to keep me sane until I can get away to New Orleans in February. It'll be my first Mardi Gras and I'm excited. According to Paul, it's like a law that I show off my boobs. He also made an interesting point when he said that everyone would be cheering anyway so there's no better environment to flash people in. I think I'll decline anyway and just have fun watching other chicks' boobs. Yup.

That's really all I got right now. There's a fairly good chance I won't update tomorrow before the new year so happy new year's, everyone! I think Nicole & I are going to go watch the fireworks in Florence. Either that or go clubbing in Birmingham. I dunno. Anyway, I love you all and hope you all have fun & safe celebrations!


past - future

navigation

about me
Jess, 21 years old, single, bisexual, honest, unique, Southern, caring, mischievous, kick-ass, friendly, uncoordinated, funny, emotional, beautiful, sexy, trustworthy, searching, open-minded, giving

likes
my friends, dreams, hugs, laughter, children, piercings, music, purple, forensic science, horoscopes, blue eyes, snow, animals, the 80s, Aqua Teen Hunger Force, Van Gogh, the night, movies, candles, big cities, horror movies, Invader Zim, Orbit Spearmint gum, keychains, Happy Bunny, Maddox

dislikes
general ignorance, homophobia, bad spelling/grammar, sneezing, organized religion, yelling, being alone, confrontation, dishonesty, people who try to tell me how to feel, falling for people you're unable to be with, arrogance, pop culture, people who always make things out to be about them, Coca-Cola, Brad Pitt, skinny chicks that are convinced they're fat