me? an emt?
2004-12-10 - 9:29 p.m.

Look, I'm updating again! And this time it's only been 4 days! Bah.

So I've decided that I'm not doing the whole 'advanced registration' thing at college this semester. I guess that's pretty apparent by now though, considering that the advanced registration period ended yesterday. Anyway, when classes officially open up, I'm going to see if any of the computer classes are still taking people. That's probably going to be the only thing I take. I think I might check into taking a CPR course there as well though. :)

My dad and little brother volunteer part-time with the local fire department (I don't technically live in Haleyville even though I have a Haleyville address & such). Well, they got a call out tonight about a vehicle that had went off the side of the road near here, down about 70 feet or so, into a little valley. Yeah, I begged until they agreed to take me along. And ya know what I've decided? I have decided that I'm going to be an EMT or something of that sort (which is half the reason that I'm considering taking a CPR class right now). I'll still pursue the forensic science field, of course. I guess this is just something to pass the time and get me out there and familiar with things. But yes, that entire environment just excites me. They ended up having to call in a helicopter and airlift the guy to Birmingham. He should be okay though. He was conscious and from what I hear, talking up a storm. Joseph (my little brother) also said it distinctly smelled like alcohol near the vehicle though.

Interesting fact: Winston (the county I live in) and Marion (where Hamilton is located - where I work & attend college) are both dry counties. (Do those even still exist in anywhere but the rural south??) However, they're also the two most drug-infested and alcohol-ridden counties in the entire state of Alabama. There's my claim to fame, guys. Oh, and also, Haleyville was the birthplace of 911. Another claim to fame..

Wow, I'm really digressing..

Anyway, yes, I would like to take EMT classes. I'm definitely gonna look into all of that soon. It disappointed me that there was only one woman on the scene tonight - out of about 50 firefighters/police officers/EMTs. Well, besides me, obviously. :)

I wonder if any of the ambulance services in the Shoals area (Err.. Basically Florence & three other cities in the area bordering the Tennessee River - Muscle Shoals, Tuscumbia, and Sheffield) would hire me part-time while I was attending college. Hm..

I've been a part of some spectacular things in my lifetime. And I think I need to be a part of something spectacular again. I should go for this.. I should do like my title says & take some action, dammit.

Also.. Hazelnut creme cappuccino? Yum.


past - future

navigation

about me
Jess, 21 years old, single, bisexual, honest, unique, Southern, caring, mischievous, kick-ass, friendly, uncoordinated, funny, emotional, beautiful, sexy, trustworthy, searching, open-minded, giving

likes
my friends, dreams, hugs, laughter, children, piercings, music, purple, forensic science, horoscopes, blue eyes, snow, animals, the 80s, Aqua Teen Hunger Force, Van Gogh, the night, movies, candles, big cities, horror movies, Invader Zim, Orbit Spearmint gum, keychains, Happy Bunny, Maddox

dislikes
general ignorance, homophobia, bad spelling/grammar, sneezing, organized religion, yelling, being alone, confrontation, dishonesty, people who try to tell me how to feel, falling for people you're unable to be with, arrogance, pop culture, people who always make things out to be about them, Coca-Cola, Brad Pitt, skinny chicks that are convinced they're fat