ozzfest
2003-08-28 - 12:10 p.m.

So I have good news and bad news.. Where to start? Eh, fuck this, we'll go in order of events.

I went to Ozzfest the day before yesterday. I parked my car at a gas station in town sometime around 5 Tuesday morning and Scott and Phillip came by and picked me up. Ozzfest was sooooo fucking cool! :) I missed the first few minutes of Shadows Fall's performance but it doesn't really bother me that much because BRIAN FAIR SHOOK MY HAND!! lol :) Brian, Paul, Matthew, and Jon autographed my cd booklet and Paul and Brian both shook my hand. I almost screamed like a little girl. I was so fucking estatic.

They're really the only band on the second stage that I watched almost the entire performance of. I wanted to see Chimaira and Killswitch Engage too but it was too fucking hot to stand out there and see them perform. It was supposedly the hottest day of the summer in Atlanta. The ONE fucking day I go to Atlanta, it's the hottest it's been all summer. I have such awful luck (and I'll state more evidence to back that up with in like 2 secs). I saw part of Memento, Hotwire, Voivod, Cradle of Filth, and Sworn Enemy but not very much. I mostly just walked around trying to find somewhere cool or shaded. I did take a look at Jon Davis' collection of...cool stuff? *Shrug* I don't know if there was a specific title or what. I know it was his stuff though. There was a life-size Pinhead figurine, artwork by Albert Fish, Richard Ramirez, Ted Bundy, J.W. Gacy, and H.R. Giger, Nirvana memoribilia (Cobain's guitar, concert tickets, cd singles, etc.), and actual restraints that were used in shock therapy at Belleview. Very cool stuff, indeed. :) They also had the first Korn concert ticket ever sold. I found that pretty cool. *Nods* Besides doing all that stuff, I mostly just sat around in cool spots and waited 'til the main stage performances started. Chevelle were the first to hit the stage. I thought they were kinda cool but I didn't really know the songs or anything so.. Eh.. After Chevelle killed the crowd, Disturbed hit the stage. They fucking rocked. :) Manson was next.. Eh.. The only two songs I wanted to hear were 'Sweet Dreams' and 'The Beautiful People.' Of course, he had to go and play that shitty 'mOBSCENE' song. Damn him. He did eventually play the 2 songs I wanted to hear though so I wasn't really that torn up about it. The next to last band (the last being Ozzy, duH) was Korn. I think I can safely say they were my favorite of everyone at Ozzfest. They played mostly old songs and really got the crowd going. And plus, they were the first band, that were actually a bit heavier, that I got into. If it weren't for them, I wouldn't know about Tool, Shadows Fall, Lamb of God, etc. So that made it even more kick ass. Ozzy only interested me because: 1) Zack Wylde (Err..Wait, how do you spell his name??), and 2) Ozzy is just funny between numbers while he's introducing songs and such. lol. Oh, and he filled us all in that Sharon is now completely cancer-free. I thought it was cool that he thought to share that with us. :) Zack fucking kicked some ass. I can't even begin to describe it. I'd just end up rambling and not making much sense (I know, I know, isn't that what I do already?).

So0o... That's basically all the good news. We left Atlanta around 10:30 (Eastern time) and arrived back in Haleyville around 1:30 (Central time, duH) only to find out when we got to the gas station, that my car had been broken into. They stole the high school's tenor saxophone (which I had borrowed temoporarily for jazz/show band at BSCC) and my cds. There were 46 cds in the cd case they grabbed, including all the cd booklets for each of them. If ya just estimate and say that each cd cost $15, that's like $690. The only cds I own now are Brand New's 'Deja Entendu,' Coldplay's 'A Rush of Blood to the Head' (and I don't even had a cd booklet for it anymore), Tool's 'Undertow' (don't have that cd booklet either), Shadows Fall's 'The Art of Balance,' and a Summer Sampler cd I got for free at Ozzfest. I HAVE NO MUSIC!! :( The only reason I even have those first 4 cds, is because I carried the Shadows Fall one with me to Ozzfest and I had put the other 3 in my backpack the other day for school and forgot to take them out and put them back in my cd case. Yay for forgetfullness! :)

I'm really hoping they pawn that tenor saxophone somewhere around here. Then not only will I get the saxophone back, but I'll have alllll my cds back too. :) I'm kinda starting to give up hope on that idea though. *Sigh* I really miss my music.

Other than that, I don't guess anything much else has really happened since I last made an entry. So I'll end this. I've gotta go get dressed for school anyway. More later.


past - future

navigation

about me
Jess, 21 years old, single, bisexual, honest, unique, Southern, caring, mischievous, kick-ass, friendly, uncoordinated, funny, emotional, beautiful, sexy, trustworthy, searching, open-minded, giving

likes
my friends, dreams, hugs, laughter, children, piercings, music, purple, forensic science, horoscopes, blue eyes, snow, animals, the 80s, Aqua Teen Hunger Force, Van Gogh, the night, movies, candles, big cities, horror movies, Invader Zim, Orbit Spearmint gum, keychains, Happy Bunny, Maddox

dislikes
general ignorance, homophobia, bad spelling/grammar, sneezing, organized religion, yelling, being alone, confrontation, dishonesty, people who try to tell me how to feel, falling for people you're unable to be with, arrogance, pop culture, people who always make things out to be about them, Coca-Cola, Brad Pitt, skinny chicks that are convinced they're fat