senior trip
2003-04-14 - 3:23 a.m.

And now the second entry of the series. The topic of this one is my senior trip.

We left Saturday before last (the 5th) for Washington D.C. and New York City. We drove all day and stayed in a really shitty hotel that night. It smelt like a giant fucking ashtray. The next morning, we went to Thomas Jefferson's house. The only quite interesting part (though none of it was really as boring as you'd think it'd be) was the fact that the beds were made into the walls. I'm not sure that makes much sense so I'm just going to clarify to make sure. Hole in the wall, bed shoved in. Like an alcove or something of the sort. Get it? You better because I'm not explaining it any longer. :P

After that, we left for Washington D.C. (Sunday afternoon). We stayed for 2 nights in a not-so-bad hotel. At least it didn't smell like a fucking ashtray. Instead, it was in the fucking ghetto and we had this weird foreign guy harassing other classmates on our halls. Sunday night, we took a dinner cruise down the Potomac River. It actually wasn't half bad. The food was kinda iffy though. Most everyone danced while a few friends and I stood on the top deck, froze our asses off, and had amusing conversations.

Monday morning, we awoke, got dressed up, and went to take a tour of the capitol and meet Congressman Aderholt (who graduated from our school). The capitol is so fucking beautiful I can't even describe it. It was so flashy and gorgeous. Then we went to the Smithsonian. Mostly boring except for the Hope diamond and the Dinosaur shit. That night, we ate in Georgetown at The Guard. And after we had left, the chaperones finally decided to tell us that it was once where Frank Sinatra, JFK, and the rat pack used to hang out at. So did I get pictures of it? No, of course not. *Mumbles something obscene under her breath*

After the Guard, we took the illuminated night tour and went to see the Washington Monument, Lincoln and Jefferson Memorials, Capitol and White House, and the Vietnam and Korean War Memorials. My favorite was definitely the Korean War Memorial. For those of you who don't know, it's soldiers walking through a field. They look so life-like at night that it's scary. And next to that is this giant wall (basically like the Vietnam Wall only it has faces of people instead of names). It definitely kicks ass. :)

The next morning (Tuesday, if you're keeping up correctly), we drove to New York City (going through the Lincoln Tunnel..which definitely freaked some people out) and checked into the Marriot Marquis. We walked to Central Park and took carriage rides through all the snow. It was absolutely beautiful. Then we walked to Planet Hollywood and had dinner. And I bought a kick ass hoodie. It's black and has a dragon on it circling a planet (duh) and says Planet Hollywood, New York at the bottom (duh again). Afterwards, we visited the Empire State Building and took the 3D tour which is basically just a shitty boring simulation ride. It's just like Spiderman at Universal Studios. Only more boring, of course. We were gonna go up onto the observation deck but they had it closed off because of all the ice up there. It made it 'unsafe.' *Rolls eyes*

Wednesday morning, we went to NBC Studios and took their tour. I got to see the Late Night with Conan O'Brien and Saturday Night Live studios. It definitely kicked ass. After that, we drove past where the Twin Towers used to be while the chaperones yelled at us to look out the window (blah). We went to Battery Park, got practically tackled by at least 15 black guys selling oakleys, watches and shit, and then took the ferry out to Liberty Island. It was quite boring and I almost froze my ass off.

That night, we went to see 'Mamma Mia!' and it actually wasn't half bad. See, it's based on the music of Abba so I figured it would be shitty. But it really surprised me and I really enjoyed it. Then we went to the top of our hotel and ate at the View. People! Never eat at the View! It sucks! Or at least I thought so. Of course, I hate fancy shit like that so I may just be misinformed. *shrug* The only thing I liked about it was that it revolved. That was quite cool. :)

Thursday morning, we rode the bus around Central Park, saw where John Lennon was shot, and stopped at FAO Schwartz. It was so0o cool. I could've stayed in there and played with toys all day. I'm such a kid. I went upstairs and got pics of all the star wars props. There was C3PO, R2D2, a droid, and a few ships hanging from the ceiling. It was all very cool. :) I bought a dog too. Very, very cute.

Then for lunch, we ate at Hard Rock Cafe. **Attention: I, Jess, touched a guitar autographed by Kurt Cobain himself!** How fucking cool is that? I still haven't washed my right hand (just kidding). And after that, we headed on home.

Oh, and on the way home, we stopped at a mall in Chattanooga (TN) to eat and I bought a 14 gauge hoop for my ear. And so now I not only have a 14 gauge in the bottom hole of my right ear but in the second hole up too. And gawd, it hurts like a bitch. Anywayz, that's all of my trip. It definitely kicked ass. It makes me wanna move to NYC now too. Maybe I'll live there some day. If not, I'll at least visit quite often. ;)


past - future

navigation

about me
Jess, 21 years old, single, bisexual, honest, unique, Southern, caring, mischievous, kick-ass, friendly, uncoordinated, funny, emotional, beautiful, sexy, trustworthy, searching, open-minded, giving

likes
my friends, dreams, hugs, laughter, children, piercings, music, purple, forensic science, horoscopes, blue eyes, snow, animals, the 80s, Aqua Teen Hunger Force, Van Gogh, the night, movies, candles, big cities, horror movies, Invader Zim, Orbit Spearmint gum, keychains, Happy Bunny, Maddox

dislikes
general ignorance, homophobia, bad spelling/grammar, sneezing, organized religion, yelling, being alone, confrontation, dishonesty, people who try to tell me how to feel, falling for people you're unable to be with, arrogance, pop culture, people who always make things out to be about them, Coca-Cola, Brad Pitt, skinny chicks that are convinced they're fat