dallas
2003-04-14 - 1:32 a.m.

It's been close to forever since I've made an entry in this diary (25 days actually.. Sad, eh?). I bet some of you were already assuming me dead, huh?

There has been so much shit going on in the past few weeks that I barely even know where to begin. To avoid having one really fucking long entry, I'm gonna seperate it into different entries. The first entry (which is obviously this one) is about my trip to Dallas, Texas.

I really should've updated sooner but anyway..

I went to Dallas for a band competition. Yes, I'm in the high school band. I play tenor saxophone. Everyone feel free to point and laugh at me.. *waits patiently for everyone to finish*

So, anyway, we left March 26th and rode a charter bus all night long. We got to the Dallas Zoo that morning and stayed most of the day and then checked into the hotel (Embassy Suites.. fucking godly) early. Most everyone went swimming while I stayed in my room, took a nice long shower, and then went to sleep.

The next morning, we woke up, got dressed in our uniforms, and made our way to the Meyerson Center to perform. At the risk of sounding completely dorky, it was the best performance we had ever pulled off. Some people even cried. Afterwards, we went to Fair Park and hung around there for a few hours. Will, Brett, Heath, Chris, and Jonathan (some of my best guy friends) even put on a show for me and chased pigeons. They almost caught a few too. I laughed my ass off. There's no therapy like laughing.

When we were finished there, we all went to the Galleria. Four (well, technically 3 1/2) floors of shops, eateries, and even a skating rink. It was great fun. I basically just walked around with grrl friends though and watched them shop. :) Brandy, Melissa, Janel, Tiffany, and I ate at a chinese restaurant on the fourth floor. Our bill was 70 fucking dollars! How insane is that?! It wasn't even that much food. Don't get me wrong. It was good food. It just wasn't $70 worth.

After that interesting, for lack of a better term, experience, we checked into our hotels, slept for a while, etc. One of my best guy friends came out to me that he was gay. It was great. :)

The next morning, we got up and went to Six Flags over Texas. We had such a fucking great time! I rode the Texas Giant (#1 wooden roller coaster in the world), Batman (twice), Wildcatter (freefall-type ride), the Flashback, and the Titan. I rode others but these were the only ones that really counted. The Titan started off with a drop of 255 feet and reached speeds up to 80 mph. Sounds great doesn't it? It definitely was. It's my new favorite coaster. :)

That night, we went to the Southern Palace (a small indoor theatre inside Six Flags) for the awards ceremony. We ended up winning Best Instrumental Overall. We won grand nationals for the fourth year in a row. Sure, other bands at other 'grand national' competitions across the U.S. won too but still.. We were the best there. It was definitely a great feeling.

After that, everyone cried and we drove home. Overall, it was the best spring trip with the band that I've ever been on. All my best friends were there (minus one) and I'll never forget all that happened and how much fun I had hanging with all of them. That's the stuff memories are made of. :)


past - future

navigation

about me
Jess, 21 years old, single, bisexual, honest, unique, Southern, caring, mischievous, kick-ass, friendly, uncoordinated, funny, emotional, beautiful, sexy, trustworthy, searching, open-minded, giving

likes
my friends, dreams, hugs, laughter, children, piercings, music, purple, forensic science, horoscopes, blue eyes, snow, animals, the 80s, Aqua Teen Hunger Force, Van Gogh, the night, movies, candles, big cities, horror movies, Invader Zim, Orbit Spearmint gum, keychains, Happy Bunny, Maddox

dislikes
general ignorance, homophobia, bad spelling/grammar, sneezing, organized religion, yelling, being alone, confrontation, dishonesty, people who try to tell me how to feel, falling for people you're unable to be with, arrogance, pop culture, people who always make things out to be about them, Coca-Cola, Brad Pitt, skinny chicks that are convinced they're fat