say hi to lily
2005-08-16 - 8:11 P.M.

First things first.

This...

...is the newest addition to the huge, ever-growing, 'Oh lord, do we really have much more room at my grandparents' house for holiday occasions?' Defoor (my mother's side, obviously) family.

Her name is Lily. She's my brand-new (born on Sunday, around 7-ish PM) baby cousin. Honestly, I'm not even sure if they've given her a middle name yet, which bugs me a lot. Mother is pushing for Lilian Rose, which sounds quite pretty, but I dunno. I apologize if the picture isn't the best quality. That was taken by Joseph's (my younger brother for those who don't know) camera phone so it's definitely a better photo than what would be expected. Just so you know, you can actually tell a lot more about the photo if you just highlight it. I'm just sayin'.

Both her & Aunt Cindy are doing well. Actually, Lily was put in NICU yesterday (and probably for the next day or so as well) for a small infection. She was having problems breathing but she's shown a significant improvement just over the last day and is expected to be released by Thursday. I can't wait to see/hold her. Yay babies!

The only other thing worth reporting now is.. Well.. If I don't log online at all or make another entry within a week (hopefully it'll be sooner than a week but I'm just sayin'), then you'll know my computer has died.

See, the stupid thing has been getting bluescreen errors off & on for well over a year (no, I'm not exaggerating) and I absolutely refuse to do anything about it because a) I have no OS media or drivers anyway, b) Win98 is a bitch to reinstall, c) I'm too goddamn lazy. And up until today, I hadn't had any problems getting into Windows.

Well, Heather gave me a spare memory stick to add to my system (since it's as old as the hills & is currently running 98mb. Seriously), right? I pop the sucker in there, it's recognized immediately (causing Jess to rejoice over a mere 163mb), but then gives an error. "While initializing device IOS: Windows protection error. You need to restart your computer." That 'IOS' part changed whenever you'd reboot the system & sometimes it wouldn't show the first line at all and would just say "Windows protection error, blah blah blah." Bah. I tried Safe Mode; I tried Step-by-step configuration. No go. I was going to call Heather about it but she's hanging out at a friend's house. I called Berkey & he suggested what I had already though of - remove the precious memory stick. Sigh.

So I removed the fuckin' memory stick & rebooted the system, right? I didn't bother putting the case on it because I thought I might have to go back inside it or something. Hell, I didn't even sit the thing upright. It's currently laying on it's side right below my feet. If I absent-mindedly put my feet on the floor, I might be electrocuted. Woot.

Anyway, after I removed the stick & booted back up, it still went to the Advanced Options menu, asking me if I wanted to boot into Normal Mode, Safe Mode, etc. Well, of course I chose Normal Mode because I'm a stubborn bitch, right? It then rebooted & went back to the same menu, only now part of the screen was cut off. Since I couldn't arrow up & down to select an option (well, I could've but I wouldn't know what I was selecting obviously), I just sat there and looked at the screen like most all of my customers usually do. Oooooh, pretty. And ta da. It booted right into Windows.

I'm almost scared to reboot it or anything now though. What if I'm not able to get back into Windows? Would it even be possible for me to live without my computer?

I suppose I'll disconnect the internet now & shut the system down so I can finish piecing it back together. Everyone cross your fingers that I'm able to get back inside Windows.


past - future

navigation

about me
Jess, 21 years old, single, bisexual, honest, unique, Southern, caring, mischievous, kick-ass, friendly, uncoordinated, funny, emotional, beautiful, sexy, trustworthy, searching, open-minded, giving

likes
my friends, dreams, hugs, laughter, children, piercings, music, purple, forensic science, horoscopes, blue eyes, snow, animals, the 80s, Aqua Teen Hunger Force, Van Gogh, the night, movies, candles, big cities, horror movies, Invader Zim, Orbit Spearmint gum, keychains, Happy Bunny, Maddox

dislikes
general ignorance, homophobia, bad spelling/grammar, sneezing, organized religion, yelling, being alone, confrontation, dishonesty, people who try to tell me how to feel, falling for people you're unable to be with, arrogance, pop culture, people who always make things out to be about them, Coca-Cola, Brad Pitt, skinny chicks that are convinced they're fat