dalai lama
2004-10-01 - 9:19 p.m.

It's not that I'm trying to cover up my last entry or anything. I just wanted to rant about meaningless stuff for a little while.

I spent about $60 on myself yesterday and the night before last. Yay for Amazon.com! I bought two books and three CDs. Wasting money on one's self is the best.

The three CDs I purchased are Shadows Fall's War Within, Dark Tranquillity's Damage Done, and Opeth's Damnation. And to whoever actually owns those CDs (or any other CD by those bands) or has even heard of them, you rock. You rock lots. Anyway, the two books I bought are 'Rubyfruit Jungle' by Rita Mae Brown and 'The Art of Happiness: A Handbook for Life' by Dalai Lama.

I've been looking into meditation and such lately, hence my buying a book by Dalai Lama. I'm tired of feeling like I'm being ripped in a million different directions and I'm tired of not having my own escape. I've always been interested in meditation so I figured 'hey, that relieves stress, Jess..Go for it'. And well, we all know how pessimistic I am so any book titled 'The Art of Happiness' is bound to at least brighten my outlook in the slightest bit.

So.. Some lovely metal CDs, a book about a lesbian growing up in the '50s, and Dalai Lama. Lovely, no?

Let's ignore the fact that Jess can't seem to stop spending money on herself, okay? I have about $600 right now though so I figure I'm doing pretty well. At this rate, I'll never save up enough for a laptop. Of course, I might not have to though. My uncle won a laptop from his employer the other day and I told my grandmother to tell him that I'd pay $1000 for it. I'm hoping he'll feel generous though and just give it to me as an early Christmas pressie. Seriously, why shouldn't he? It's not like he spent any money on it himself and that way my Christmas pressie would be no cost to him. Sounds like a winner, doesn't it? Hmm.. I'm gonna run that idea by him next time I see him.

I think I'm gonna end this now. Work was gross today and I have 10 hours of it tomorrow and then 10 more hours on Sunday. I might head off to sleep earlier than usual tonight. Yawn.


past - future

navigation

about me
Jess, 21 years old, single, bisexual, honest, unique, Southern, caring, mischievous, kick-ass, friendly, uncoordinated, funny, emotional, beautiful, sexy, trustworthy, searching, open-minded, giving

likes
my friends, dreams, hugs, laughter, children, piercings, music, purple, forensic science, horoscopes, blue eyes, snow, animals, the 80s, Aqua Teen Hunger Force, Van Gogh, the night, movies, candles, big cities, horror movies, Invader Zim, Orbit Spearmint gum, keychains, Happy Bunny, Maddox

dislikes
general ignorance, homophobia, bad spelling/grammar, sneezing, organized religion, yelling, being alone, confrontation, dishonesty, people who try to tell me how to feel, falling for people you're unable to be with, arrogance, pop culture, people who always make things out to be about them, Coca-Cola, Brad Pitt, skinny chicks that are convinced they're fat