car wreck
2006-06-05 - 7:16 P.M.

I realized a few days ago that it'd been a looooonnng time since I updated but I figured it'd just have to wait a few days until I could come up with something to talk about. At the time, nothing much had happened since the last update. I was still temporarily living with my parents, work was still the same, etc.

Then Saturday morning happened.

I was on my way to work around 10 (I was actually going to be on time that day) & a Ford Explorer slammed on its brakes in front of me. In front of my less-than-six-inches-from-the-ground Firebird. I was going probably around 50 when they slammed on their brakes so I slammed on mine and probably got down to around 35 or 40 mph before I hit them. No one was hurt but my car is now trashed. It still runs fine (Dad ended up driving it back home for me because there was no way in hell I was able to drive at the time) but the entire front of it is demolished. The hood, both lights & the gear assembly for the right light, both ground effects pieces on the front - right side & left side, and the front bumper (which doesn't look that bad in the pictures but is actually pretty damned scratched up & the fiberglass up near the right light is ripped like cardboard). Check it out..

See that v-shaped thing? Yeah, that's MY HOOD. Ugh. It makes me almost sick to look at it. I mean, I guess I'm lucky that I was wearing my seat belt & didn't get pretty hurt but now I'm gonna have to get it fixed. I don't have that money right now. I have full coverage on the car but the deductible is 1k. I'm actually hoping they'll total it out (surely that looks like 5k worth of damage, ya think?) & give me what the car was worth before the accident, which is somewhere around 10k. Then I can use half of that to repair the car & the other half to pay off part of what I owe on it (which is at this point, around 9k). Knowing my luck, it's never going to work out in my favour like that but cross your fingers for me anyway.

And what else has happened other than that? Well, a couple of days ago, Mark found out that he'd gotten his ex-girlfriend pregnant right before they split up. Oh, and it gets better than that. She was going into labour when he found out. Yeah, I think he had some problems with it at the time (when I talked to him yesterday for the first time in like a week, he said that he hadn't ate or slept since he'd found out) but I think he'll make a good father. He said he'd get me pictures soon. He better. To be honest, I wasn't exactly sober when Mark told me the baby's name (a boy, by the way) but I think he said Devin Michael. Maybe. I'm not sure about the Michael part.

I skipped out on work today. I was sore as hell yesterday because of the wreck (mostly my neck & left shoulder but my back to a lesser extent) & woke up this morning feeling ten times worse. I've spent today laying around the house, pondering life & reading 'The Princess Bride'. And thinking about how I want to get out of here. Pirate Boy, one of my friends from work, & I have recently made semi-plans (we're never too exact on these trips we discuss) to take a road trip to the ocean sometime soon. I guess it'll have to wait until my car gets fixed but I'm still pretty damn excited about it. I need to get out & see something new. I need to take a break from work, home life, etc..

The insurance guy is coming by either this Wednesday or Thursday to look over my car & give an estimate of the damage and all that good stuff. I'll update then with the news. Cross your fingers that they total it. I could really use the extra money.

**Edit: I talked it over with Mum & Dad. ..About the whole 'totalling the car' thing. Apparently since I still owe money on it, they'd actually total it and then take the vehicle. Fuck that. Perhaps they won't total it then. I'm sure that with whatever they give me for it, I'll still have some left over though. Mum & Dad have a friend that works on cars & he'd probably give us a good deal to get it fixed back up to the way it was. So surely I'll still have some money left over when he's finished & I can just put that towards the money I still owe. Whichever.


past - future

navigation

about me
Jess, 21 years old, single, bisexual, honest, unique, Southern, caring, mischievous, kick-ass, friendly, uncoordinated, funny, emotional, beautiful, sexy, trustworthy, searching, open-minded, giving

likes
my friends, dreams, hugs, laughter, children, piercings, music, purple, forensic science, horoscopes, blue eyes, snow, animals, the 80s, Aqua Teen Hunger Force, Van Gogh, the night, movies, candles, big cities, horror movies, Invader Zim, Orbit Spearmint gum, keychains, Happy Bunny, Maddox

dislikes
general ignorance, homophobia, bad spelling/grammar, sneezing, organized religion, yelling, being alone, confrontation, dishonesty, people who try to tell me how to feel, falling for people you're unable to be with, arrogance, pop culture, people who always make things out to be about them, Coca-Cola, Brad Pitt, skinny chicks that are convinced they're fat